07 June 2006

ronald sukenick innovative fiction prize

Beginning this fall, the Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize will be awarded annually by FC2 to an outstanding book-length manuscript of formally innovative fiction. Hosted by the University of Notre Dame Creative Writing Department, the contest is open to all writers who have not previously published with FC2.

Contest entries will be accepted bewteen September 1, 2006, and December 1, 2006. The winner will be announced May 2007.

Full manuscripts, accompanied by a check for the reading fee of $20, should be sent to:

Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize
c/o Steve Tomasula
The Notre Dame Review
840 Flanner Hall
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame, IN 46556-5639

Final selection of Sukenick Prize winners will be made by the FC2 Board of Directors: Lance Olsen, Lidia Yuknavitch, Michael Martone, Noy Holland, Susan Steinberg, and R. M. Berry. Selection criteria will be consistent with FC2’s stated mission to publish “fiction considered by America’s largest publishers too challenging, innovative, or heterodox for the commercial milieu,” including works of “high quality and exceptional ambition whose style, subject matter, or form pushes the limits of American publishing and reshapes our literary culture.”

The Sukenick Prize includes a $500 advance on royalties and publication of the winning manuscript by FC2, an imprint of the University of Alabama Press. In the unlikely event that no suitable manuscript is found among entries in a given year, FC2 reserves the right to award no prize.

For contest updates and full information on FC2’s mission, history, aesthetic commitments, authors, events, and books, please visit the press's website.